Starting Anew

I always liked the story of Noah’s Ark and the idea of starting anew by rescuing the things you like and leaving the rest behind.

Zach Braff

A fresh start. Maybe.

Life Update

Hi friends! It has been ages since my last post. I am currently based in Batangas City where I work as a Process Engineer in a Petrochemicals Plant. I’ve been living on my own for almost 3 years now and I get to visit my family in Cebu on holidays and on special occasions. I miss them every day. But I get by with some help from my friends and from the family I gained here.

A Fresh Start

The first month of 2020 has been overwhelming. A lot of threats shook not only this country but the world – attempts on World War III, earthquakes of magnitudes greater than 6.0, Taal Volvano eruption, 2019 n-Corona virus to name a few. It wasn’t the best start of the new decade but another month is here showing us a ray of hope to start anew.

Just like any fresh start, I’d like to reflect on Zach Braff’s thoughts on linking Noah’s ark story to starting anew by rescuing things you like and leaving the rest behind. Three years ago when I chose to move away from my hometown, I was ready to leave the rest behind and start a new chapter of my life somewhere else. I simply turned a page and did not look back. However, whenever I go back home every year to be with family, I realized I left too many things behind. I chose to let go of a huge part of me which made me feel more lost since I moved here. I lost my balance and my footing. In my wanting to start fresh in a new place, I let go of all the good things I should have held on to.

Now, I realize that Noah did not go in to that ark empty-handed. He brought with him all the good things – all in pairs. I hope it isn’t too late to go back and grab all the nice things I’ve left and bring it with me this time around. I thought I only had hurt and bitterness but apparently, healing and transformation comes after it. This year, I am ready to embrace that transformation for there is no such thing as hurt and bitterness if we do not grow from it. I only realize now that wherever I go, my life would never be smooth. For it would have been smooth, I wouldn’t grow and become better. In the next months, I plan to rekindle my passions – especially writing and photography. I no longer want to let great moments pass without proper documentation. We wouldn’t know when the world ends. But I hope when it does, we won’t have any regrets. I hope when that day comes, we have already become the best versions of ourselves.

Published by thejoanabuan

I am a Filipino Chemical Engineer from the Queen City of the South. It is said that my name means a grace given to a bitter and sorrowful mother longing for a child. True enough, I was born nine years after my third brother and my mother longed for a daughter. This blog is basically a glimpse to my personal life. This contains snippets of my day and thoughts I kept to myself. You will find my style of writing as me talking to you (somewhere in the world) about my day, about my pain, about my joy, and about God’s grace in my life. It would mean a lot to me if what I post here would touch your life in some ways. Nonetheless, I am grateful you are here reading this now. No matter where you are, remember, you matter. Always know that He is looking down on you with kindness so always strive to be kind to one another.

Leave a comment