Things to do when you’re single on Valentine’s Day

I know Valentine’s day is just around the corner. And although this is commonly for couples to celebrate, there is still a vast fraction of the young population who will be celebrating this year’s valentines single (single since birth, single by choice, single because of LDR, recently single, and the like).

So for you who will be celebrating it couple-less this year (and if you’re like me who thinks this day is a big deal), here is a list of things you can do (and things I actually did)  when you’re (I was) still single on this (last year’s) Single-Awareness Day (aka Valentine’s day):

First and foremost, note that you won’t be forever single. So take this year as a chance to do it right and enjoy being single while it lasts! Let’s start.

  • Do something to express your love.

Of course, Valentine’s day would not be complete without showing some love today. Whether it be for your parents, siblings, or friends, do something to express your love for them. What I did before was write them love notes and also pack some goodies to give out to my girlfriends. I also had to exchange some chocolates and flowers with my single friends too (you might want to do it with your girl squad, it’s fun.)

And if you’ve been having a long time crush for this girl/guy, now is the time to express your love, through a song, a picture, or some sweets. Remember, Valentine’s day is a day of love for a reason.

  • Be and feel pretty.

I personally believe that women wear makeup to feel pretty and not to impress boys (well, that comes as a bonus). Primarily, we put on makeup to accentuate our good features and conceal our flaws. If you have this lovely dress you’ve been dying to wear but didn’t have an occasion to do so, then now is the time to show them your curves girl! You don’t need a partner to be and feel pretty. So let no one and nothing stop you from being and feeling beautiful today.

And for added points, it also pays to be pretty on the inside too. So today would also be a perfect avenue to RAK the world. Rock the world with RAK (Random-Acts-of-Kindness)! Nothing feels more beautiful than also inspiring others to do the same. Be kind.

  • Smile and enjoy the day.

This is just like any other Tuesday. What makes this even better is that you get a chance to legally be cheesy. No one will judge you. So go on, spread love to the world. Now is not the time for bitterness because trust me, your time will come. So, smile and enjoy the day. This too shall pass. (We don’t know this might be your last valentines being single so might as well enjoy it while it lasts because it would be totally different when you have a partner next year).

  • Study.

If you’re still a student, then today you should not also forget that it’s a school day. Primarily it is a school day so you are expected to be at school learning and studying. It sounds cliché but relationships when you have set your studies first is a more mature and productive one. So set your priorities. Your primary job as a student is to learn. So if you have an upcoming exams or projects to finish, today is the perfect time to focus on that too.

  • Write.

A famous person said that sad people write. So if you can’t help it and you just feel utterly bitter and sad, don’t pop others’ bubbles. Instead, write about what you feel. Convert all those sadness into creative juices and who knows your next book starts today. I personally believe that writing is therapeutic. So if you think that today is the worst day of the year, then get some comfort by writing your thoughts on paper. Let it all out. You could share it online, write it on your diary, or even burn it afterwards. But after all your emo session, know that you’re not alone and that sadness should be something that is temporary.

  • Take photos.

It might be far-fetched but maybe this year’s your last one as single so take photos and document everything you did today whether it be with your family or friends. You won’t regret it. And if today’s just about bitter moments, capture those as well so that you have something to look back to so that you could appreciate the happy moments. What I want you to do is just to utterly enjoy the day and document it. You need not post in social media but documenting both happy and sad moments also shows the two sides of your growing up story. And aside from documenting it, partake in that moment. Live in that and enjoy it while it lasts.

  • Celebrate friendship.

Valentine’s Day is about love. And love comes in a lot of forms. You don’t have to celebrate it alone. You can celebrate it with your friends who are single too. And if you’re like me and have friends who are on the same level of insane as I am, you could even hold a pajama party and countdown to Happy Valentine’s day just like it was a new year! A new year for self-love and celebrating friends who were with you through single, heartbroken, in love, dumb times. Today is also the day for friendship appreciation so go on, get those post-its to some use and send them some love today!

  • Eat!

Gosh, today won’t be complete without all the good food! Make the most out of the packages today and enjoy good food and good company with the right people. And remember that those who eat together, stays together (Ok, I made it up but food is another form of love too, right?)

Bottom line, today you have to choose to be happy and embrace that singlehood while you still can. Don’t be afraid and show and receive love. Happy valentine’s day!

Published by thejoanabuan

I am a Filipino Chemical Engineer from the Queen City of the South. It is said that my name means a grace given to a bitter and sorrowful mother longing for a child. True enough, I was born nine years after my third brother and my mother longed for a daughter. This blog is basically a glimpse to my personal life. This contains snippets of my day and thoughts I kept to myself. You will find my style of writing as me talking to you (somewhere in the world) about my day, about my pain, about my joy, and about God’s grace in my life. It would mean a lot to me if what I post here would touch your life in some ways. Nonetheless, I am grateful you are here reading this now. No matter where you are, remember, you matter. Always know that He is looking down on you with kindness so always strive to be kind to one another.

One thought on “Things to do when you’re single on Valentine’s Day

Leave a comment